Equipment
What you'll need to take empties back
There are two ways to do it: by hand at the till (you're paid 3p per empty) or with a bottle-return machine (5p per empty for the first 225,000 a year, then 1.3p). Exchange for Change Last checked: 12 Oct 2026
In short: You can take empties back by hand at the till, earning a 3p handling fee per empty, or with a reverse vending machine, earning 5p per empty for the first 225,000 a year and then 1.3p. A machine isn't required. If you buy one, it should meet Exchange for Change's machine specification, and you provide the power and internet connection. Exchange for Change's list of certified machines was due in October 2026 but wasn't published when we last checked. Eligible small independents can get a £6,000 grant towards a machine.
No referral links. We have no deals with any supplier, and we're not paid by anyone listed. How to get a quote.
1. Before you buy anything
Grant: up to £6,000 for a machine
Paid as 3 x £2,000 a year to independent shops (3 or fewer stores) that must run a return point: rural under 200 sq m or urban 100-199 sq m. One grant per business, and the machine must be available over 90% of opening hours. Rounds are proposed from January 2027, and you'll need proof of order before launch. E4C grants update (PDF) Last checked: 12 Oct 2026
Only buy a certified machine
Exchange for Change will only connect machines that meet its specification. Its list of certified machines was due in early October 2026 and wasn't published when we checked. E4C newsletter, Aug 2026, E4C FAQ, certification body (PPS) Last checked: 12 Oct 2026
Collection is arranged for you
Exchange for Change's appointed partners collect; you don't hire your own collector. Who covers your area
Bags and bins
The ACS says shops must buy bags from recognised suppliers and that wheelie bins are expected to be provided. Exchange for Change hasn't published this yet. ACS; not confirmed by E4C ACS shop guide (In Ireland, bags and tags are free. Re-turn)
Careful with "smart bins". Bins that scan but don't crush the empties do not count as machines. You'd be paid the 3p by-hand fee and may lose the grant. Machines must crush plastic by at least 55% and cans by at least 75%. ACS guide, June 2026, E4C RVM spec, p.5
2. Checklist
By-hand shop
- Bags and tags for full bags supplier and price not published
- A bag holder or stand at the till estimate £20-£60
- A barcode scanner or phone app to check and record each empty may use your till scanner; unverified
- Safe, dry space for full bags (back room or bin)
- A way to record returns, so you're paid the right fee
- Staff trained on what to accept or refuse (training)
Machine shop
- A certified machine (buy, lease, rent or pay-per-empty)
- Power and internet are your responsibility. The machine must stay connected at least 99.5% of the time, and is shut down after more than 2 days offline. RVM spec, p.5-6
- Till (EPOS) link so customers can redeem machine vouchers in store. RVM spec, p.6
- Floor space: e.g. TOMRA B3 takes 0.45 sq m source
- Service and maintenance agreement (grant needs over 90% availability)
- The supplier must sign a data agreement with Exchange for Change before installing. RVM spec, p.7
What Exchange for Change's machine spec requires (summary)
- Accept every in-scope container, from 50-125 mm wide and 75-360 mm tall.
- Identify containers by barcode, shape, weight and metal detection (at least 95% accuracy combined), and reject full or part-full ones.
- Crush containers so they can't be returned twice; keep them in one piece.
- Download the scheme's product list every day; keep transaction records.
- Offer accessibility features, standard screens and deposit receipts.
- Logo recognition is likely to be required within a year of launch.
Exchange for Change RVM Specifications (PDF), p.4-7. Ask suppliers to show how their machine meets it.
3. Supplier comparison
| Supplier | What they sell (UK) | Published price or terms | Fit for small shops | Quote |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| TOMRA | Machines, including the compact B3 | No fixed price. Buy, lease, rent, hybrid; pay-per-container model with a minimum payment source | Compact B3 model for small shops | How to get a quote |
| EcoVend (Reconomy) | Machines | 3-, 5- or 7-year leases; price not published source | Not stated in a source | Supplier's website |
| Recyclever | Machines with ad screens; RecyHub screen portal | Its own example: £15,000 machine plus install; RecyHub £40/month per machine source | Not stated in a source | Supplier's website |
| Envipco | Machines (Compact, Flex, Optima, Quantum); won large UK chain contracts | Not published source | Not stated in a source | How to get a quote |
| RVM Systems | Machines (approved supplier in Ireland) | Not published Re-turn list | Not stated in a source | How to get a quote |
| Sielaff (UK office) | Machines (approved supplier in Ireland) | Not published Re-turn list | Not stated in a source | How to get a quote |
| ACO Recycling UK | Machines | Not published | Not stated in a source | Supplier's website |
| Trovr / TSG (QUBE) | Scanning "smart bin" for small sites; app | £4,320 to buy, or a no-upfront subscription (rate not published) Better Retailing. Likely counts as by-hand (3p), as it doesn't crush (see note above) | Made for small sites | How to get a quote |
| Diebold Nixdorf | Not checked for UK deposit machines | None found | Not stated in a source | |
| Bag and label suppliers | Recognised bags and labels | List not published yet | Not stated in a source |
Typical machine prices quoted in the trade press: £10k-£12k small to £50k-£60k large (Recyclever) source; other estimates of £12,000-£20,000 for smaller models source. In Scotland's cancelled scheme, shops were left with contracts of nearly £4,000 a year BBC. Avoid long contracts until the scheme is certain.
How to get a quote
Quotes come direct from suppliers: contact them yourself. We don't pass on your details and we're not paid by any supplier. Ask each one to put the full cost in writing (purchase, lease or pay-per-empty, installation, service, and contract length), and avoid long contracts until the scheme is certain.
Questions to ask every supplier
- Is this model on Exchange for Change's certified list?
- Full cost in writing: purchase or lease, install, service, software.
- Contract length, and what happens if the scheme is delayed.
- Guaranteed uptime and repair times (the grant needs over 90% availability).
- Does it link to my till (EPOS) for vouchers?
- Does it need anything more from my power or internet?
Common questions
Do I need a reverse vending machine?
No. You can take empties back by hand over the counter, or with a reverse vending machine. By hand you earn 3p per empty; by machine, 5p for the first 225,000 a year, then 1.3p.
Sources: GOV.UK, E4C handling fee, Equipment
Who pays for the bags?
Probably you. The ACS guide says shops will buy bags from recognised suppliers and label each full bag. Exchange for Change only says empties taken back by hand are checked, bagged, tagged and stored. Who supplies bags, and the cost, is not published yet unconfirmed.
Who collects the empties, and how often?
Exchange for Change has appointed five firms by region: SUEZ and CIRQLR across most of England, Bywaters in London, Re.Group in Scotland and Re-Gen in Northern Ireland. How often they collect is not published yet unconfirmed.
Sources: E4C collection partners, Collections